The Sacraments are means of entering into a deeper relationship with God and his Church.   They are both receiving God's commitment of love and making a step of commitment to God.  The Catholic Church follows the lead of Jesus Christ as onewho instituted various means to grow in our relationship with him--most clearly when he celebrated the Meal of His Body and Blood the night before He Diedand when after his Resurrection he sent us to go and Baptize.  The Catholic Christian Church has 3 initiation sacraments (Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Communion)  as well as 2 for forgiveness and healing (Confession and Anointing of the Sick)  and 2 for ways of leading others into God's love(Holy Matrimony and Holy Orders).



Baptism is a gift of being washed of the old ways of sin and beginning a new way of living in Christ.  One dies to sin and rises to new life. 

First Holy Communion

One shares most intimately in the love and life of Christ by sharing in the Banquet of Love which he Instituted at the Last Supper.  One Receives all of Christ:  his Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity,  his love, his patience, his wisdom, his courage, his hope,... truly new life.

Eucharist in Heaven.jpg

Confirmation Pentecost.jpg


The new life one receives in Baptism is strengthened in being Confirmed by the Bishop or delegate of the Bishop.  One is filled with greater gifts of the Spirit and is ready to serve in the church and share in the Banquet of Christ's love.




Anointing of the Sick


Becoming Catholic

Filler Text